The Council, which governs the university within the confines of the Higher Education Act 1997 (Act No 101 of 1997) and University Statute as per Government Gazette No 37235, was offically inducted on 1 May 2014.
The council members are:

1. Judge N Dambuza: Ministerial Appointee (Chairperson)

2. Mr S Khondlo: Ministerial Appointee (Deputy chairperson)

3. Mrs CC Mulder: Elected by the Council

4. Ms NY Tyamzashe: Elected by the Council

5. Dr L Mpahlwa: Representative of Convocation

6. Mr TS Zakuza: Elected by the Council

7. Mr L Holbrook: Ministerial Appointee

8. Professor Bongani Mayosi: Ministerial Appointee

9. Mr LN Capa: Ministerial Appointee

10. Ms GT Serobe: Elected by the Council

11. Dr VF Mahlati: Elected by the Council

12. Professor R Midgley: Vice-Chancellor and Principal

13. Ms N Bam


15. Dr P Jaca: Senate Representative

16. Mr A Sepeng: Senate Representative

17. Professor BS Nakani: Non-Senate Academic Representative

18. Mr S Tshangela: Non-Senate non-Academic Representative

19. SRC representative: Mr B Noah

20. SRC representative: Mr MMcithwa

For more information about the WSU Council, download this WSU council booklet which provides the Council’s CVs together with photographs.