WSU LEADERSHIP

THE CHANCELLOR

 

chancellor

 

 

On the 24th of April 2015, Council appointed a new University Chancellor in the person of Honourable Ambassador Sheila M. Sisulu with immediate effect. On behalf of the University Council, we wish to thank and congratulate Honourable Ambassador Sheila M. Sisulu and pledge our support in her new role for Walter Sisulu University… 

 

THE COUNCIL

The Council, which governs the university within the confines of the Higher Education Act 1997 (Act No 101 of 1997) and University Statute as per Government Gazette No 37235, was officially inducted on 1 May 2014.

 

The council members are:

  1. Judge N Dambuza: Ministerial Appointee (Chairperson)
  2. Mr. S Khondlo: Ministerial Appointee (Deputy Chairperson)
  3. Mrs. CC Mulder: Elected by the Council
  4. Ms. NY Tyamzashe: Elected by the Council
  5. Dr. L Mpahlwa: (External member)
  6. Mr. TS Zakuza: Elected by the Council
  7. Mr. L Holbrook: Ministerial Appointee
  8. Professor Bongani Mayosi: Ministerial Appointee
  9. Mr. LN Capa: Ministerial Appointee
  10. Ms. GT Serobe: Elected by the Council
  11. Dr. VF Mahlati: Elected by the Council
  12. Professor R Midgley: Vice-Chancellor and Principal
  13. Ms. N Bam (External member)
  14. Dr. P Jaca: Senate Representative
  15. Mr. A Sepeng: Senate Representative
  16. Mr. S Tshangela: Non-Senate non-Academic Representative
  17. Advocate  Z Tiya (Convocation)
  18. Advocate W Qaji (Convocation)

 

 

 

INSTITUTIONAL MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE

 

 dsc_3381

VICE-CHANCELLOR & PRINCIPAL

Professor  R. Midgley:

PhD (UCT),

B com LLB (Rhodes University)

Tel: 047 502 2200/2213
Fax: 047 502 2370
Secretary
Shamima Dunraj l Nombuyiselo Mbete
vc@wsu.ac.za
 mahlo

Deputy Vice-Chancellor: Academic Affairs & Research:

Professor M.G Mahlomaholo:
BA, BEd (UNIN); MEd (Harvard); DEd (UWC); UED

Executive Secretary:

Koleka Sangoni
dvc@wsu.ac.za
ksangoni@wsu.ac.za

CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER (Acting)

Mr. Van De Linde

 

 

Tel: 047 502 2285/ 2293
Fax: 047 502 2295
Secretary
Naseema Kader
nkader@wsu.ac.za

dsc_0619

REGISTRAR

Mr. H.K Maphinda:
MA, BA Hons (Unitra), MCom (UKZN), BA Hons (Rhodes)

Mthatha

Tel: 047 502 2217/2715
Fax: 047 502 2330
Secretary
Lusanda Ntintili
lntintili@wsu.ac.za
dsc_0519

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR STUDENT DEVELOPMENT & SUPPORT SERVICES

Ms. Z Dotwana:
MA (Liverpool), BA Hons, HEd (UFH), Cert HEd Mngt (Wits)

Mthatha

Tel: 043 708 5340
Fax: 043 708 5335
Secretary
Luke Nyembe
lnyembe@wsu.ac.za
 dsc_0526

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR HUMAN RESOURCES

Ms. S. Nduli:
MA (UKZN), BSoc (Natal)

Tel: 047 502 2674/2673
Fax: 047 502 2731
Secretary
Babalwa Golifili
bgolifili@wsu.ac.za
 img-20170907-wa0000

SENIOR DIRECTOR: MARKETING, COMMUNICATION & ADVANCEMENT

Mrs. Y. Tukwayo:
CM (SA), B.com (Hons) Unisa

Tel: 043 702 9377/9397
Email: ytukwayo@wsu.ac.za
Secretary
Sindiswa Leve
sleve@wsu.ac.za
ntshuntshe

SENIOR DIRECTOR LIBRARY & INFORMATION SERVICES

Ms. P.P Ntshuntshe-Matshaya:
M BIBL, B BIBL (Hons.), HDLIS, BA (Unitra)

 

 

 

 

Tell:047 -5022176
Cell:072 218 8776
Email:
pntshuntshematshaya@wsu.ac.
Secretary
N Nqolase
nnqolase@wsu.ac.za

 

 

 

 

ict

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR ICT & OPERATIONS

Mr. S. Mpambane:
M.Tech (CPUT), B.Tech, ND: Building (Pentech), Project Management (UCT)

Tel: 047 502 2659/2957
Secretary
Nondumiso Xokwe Ntantiso
nxokwe@wsu.ac.za

Office of the Vice-Chancellor & Principal: Institutional Research & Planning

 

Tell: 047 502 2204/2260
Fax: 047 502 2269
 mfazwe

ADVISOR TO THE VICE-CHANCELLOR & PRINCIPAL

Mr. P. Mfazwe:
BA Hons (Unitra)

 

 

Tel: 047 502 2697/2303
Fax: 047 502 2839
Secretary
Zoliwe Mazwi
zmazwi@wsu.ac.za

CAMPUS MANAGEMENT

 jadezweni

MTHATHA CAMPUS RECTOR

Professor J.M.M Jadezweni:
BA, HED (Unitra), MA, MEd, EdD (Columbia)

Tel: 047 501 2859/2776
Secretary
Faith Sonkqayi
fsonkqayi@wsu.ac.za
 commerce

DEAN FACULTY OF COMMERCE & ADMINISTRATION

Dr. S. Rajkaran:
Junior Secondary Education Diploma (Springfield), B Com (Unisa), B Com Hons (Unisa), M Com (University of Durban-Westville), MEd (Unitra/Bristol), B Tech Quality (Unisa), D Ed (WSU)

 

 

 

Tel: 047 502 2560/2562
srajkaran@wsu.ac.za
Secretary
Nosipho Matyeke
pmatyeke@wsu.ac.za
n-d

DEAN FACULTY OF NATURAL SCIENCES

Professor N.D Jumbam:
MSc (THL-Merseburg), PhD (TU-Graz), CChem, MRSC

Mthatha

Tel: 047 502 2186
Fax: 086 696 6795
njumbam@wsu.ac.za

DEAN FACULTY OF HEALTH SCIENCES

(Vacant)

Tel: 047 502 2667
 humanities

DEAN FACULTY OF HUMANITIES, SOCIAL SCIENCES AND LAW

Professor P.N Makiwane:
BA, Hons BA (Unisa), B.Proc, LL.B (Unitra), LL.M, LL.D (Unisa)

Tel: 047 502 2357
Email: pmakiwane@wsu.ac.za
 buttter-rector

BUTTERWORTH CAMPUS RECTOR

Professor V.S.B Mtetwa:
D.Phil (Oxon), BSc (UBLS)

Tel: 047 401 6333
Fax: 047 492 0563
Secretary
Ms Thandi Cewu
tcewu@wsu.ac.za

ACTING DEAN: FACULTY OF EDUCATION

Dr Sarpong

Tel: 047 401 6114
Fax: 047 401 6114
 prof-farhad-aghdasi

 

 

 

Dean: FACULTY OF ENGINEERING AND TECHNOLOGY

Professor F. Aghdasi: PhD (Bristol, UK), MBA (Portland, USA), MSc (Oregon, USA), BSc Electronic Engineering (Manchester, UK)

 

 

Tel: 047 401 6268
Cell: 082 811 6688  Email:faghdasi@wsu.ac.za

 

 

DEAN FACULTY OF MANAGEMENT SCIENCES

Ms. B. Nguza-Mduba:
STD, B Com Ed. (Unitra), B Ed. B Com Hons, MBL (Unisa), MEd. (UOFS)

Butterworth.

 

Tel: 047 401 6236
Fax: 047 401 6284
bnguza-mduba@wsu.ac.za
Secretary
Felicia Mangisa
fmangisa@wsu.ac.za

 jaca

BUFFALO CITY CAMPUS RECTOR

Dr. S.P Jaca:
BSc Ed, BSc Hons, MSc Maths (Unitra), MEd (Sheffield), MSc Maths (Unitra), PhD (NMMU)

 

 

 

Tel: 043 708 5204
Fax: 043 708 5335
pjaca@wsu.ac.za
Secretary
Ms V Mafa
vmafa@wsu.ac.za

 

 novukela

DEAN FACULTY OF BUSINESS SCIENCES 

Mr. C.S Novukela: B.Com, B.Com (Hons) UFH, M.Com. (UDW), Dip. Labour Law (GIMT), Practical Project Management (UNISA – SBL), Cert. in Total Quality Management (UNISA)

Tel: 043 708 5326
Fax: 043 708 5278
csnovukela@wsu.ac.za
Secretary
Nozipho Giba
ngiba@wsu.ac.za
 siswana

DEAN FACULTY OF SCIENCE, ENGINEERING AND TECHNOLOGY

Dr. M. Siswana:
PhD, MSc, BSc Hons (Rhodes),  BSc (UFH)
Buffalo City.

Tel: 043 709 4069
Fax: 043 708 5437
msiswana@wsu.ac.za
Secretary
Bubele Mququ
bmququ@wsu.ac.za

 

 speckman

QUEENSTOWN CAMPUS RECTOR

 

Professor McGlory Speckman:
DTh (Unisa) MTh (Natal) BTh(Hons) (Unisa) BA (Rhodes) DipTheol (Fedsem) APM (Unisa).

Tel: 040 842 6887/6808
Fax: 040 842 6896
Secretary
Neliswa Mbuqe
nmbuqe@wsu.ac.za
 coetser

DEAN FACULTY OF EDUCATION, FINANCE & MANAGEMENT

Professor A. Coetser: BA, BA (Hons.) (UP), HDE (NKP), B Ed, MA (cum laude), D Litt et Phil (UNISA).

Tell: 047 502 2204/2260
Fax: 047 502 2269
Secretary
ksleka Sangoni
ksangoni@wsu.ac.za

MANAGEMENT STAFF

INFRASTRUCTURE PROJECTS MANAGEMENT OFFICE

 (Vacant)

 

 

Tel: 047 401 6212/6001
Fax: 047 401 6362/6200
Secretary
Asanda Maqoma
amaqoma@wsu.ac.za

 projects

INTERIM DIRECTOR –  PROJECTS

Mr. H.J Botha
Buffalo City – Heritage Building

Tel: 043 702 9329
Email: hbotha@wsu.ac.za
 cishe

DIRECTOR (Acting) RESEARCH DEVELOPMENT & POSTGRADUATE STUDIES

Dr. N. Cishe
Mthatha

Tel: 047 502 2947/047 502 2912/2647
Fax: 047 502 2185
Secretary
Nomafu Sigodi
nsigodi@wsu.ac.za

DIRECTOR (Acting) STUDENT DEVELOPMENT

 

 

Tel: 047 502 2736
Fax: 047 502 2493
Secretary
Thabisa Nocha
tnocha@wsu.ac.za
 okuthe

DIRECTOR INFORMATION, COMMUNICATION AND TECHNOLOGY

Mr. J. Okuthe
Buffalo City – Heritage Building

 

Tel: 043 703 8504
Fax:043-703 8535
Email: jokuthe@wsu.ac.za
Secretary
Apiwe Ngogela
angogela@wsu.ac.za

 madhi

DIRECTOR LEGAL SERVICES

Ms. F. Madhi
Buffalo City – Chiselhurst

 

Tel: 043 709 4095
Fax: 043 709 4096
Email: fmadhi@wsu.ac.za

 bernard

DIRECTOR FACILITIES

Mr. D. Barnard-
Mthatha

Tel: 043 703 8576/8575
Fax: 043 703 8535
Email: dbernard@wsu.ac.za

DIRECTOR COST & MANAGEMENT ACCOUNTING

(Vacant)

 

Tel: 043 703 8557/8558
Fax: 043 703 8579
Secretary
Mfezi Rwicila

 mabovula

DIRECTOR (Acting) INSTITUTIONAL RESEARCH & PLANNING

Dr. N. Mabovula
Mthatha

Tel: 047 502 2892/2799
Fax: 047 502 2530
Email:nmabovula@wsu.ac.za
Secretary
Nonkosi Duze
 dandala

DIRECTOR QUALITY ASSURANCE

Dr. A. Dandala
Buffalo City – Heritage Building

Tel: 043 703 8575
Email:adandala@wsu.ac.za
Secretary
Gail Langley

 

 payi DIRECTOR
CENTRE FOR COMMUNITY & INTERNATIONAL PARTNERSHIPS
Mr. M. Payi
Buffalo City – Taxi City
Tel: 043 702 9219/9250
Fax: 043 702 9274
Email:mpayi@wsu.ac.za
Secretary
Nontsikilelo Moyikwa
 dwayi DIRECTOR
CENTRE FOR LEARNING & TEACHING DEVELOPMENT
Mr. V. Dwayi
Buffalo City – Heritage Building
Tel: 043 722 3328
Fax: 043 722 3342
Email:vdwayi@wsu.ac.za
Secretary
 advancement DIRECTOR
INSTITUTIONAL ADVANCEMENTMr. S. Welcome13E Tecoma Office ParkBereaEast London

Email: swelcome@wsu.ac.za

Jennifer Kupiso

Tel: 043 79328/9370

(VACANT) DIRECTOR GOVERNANCE & ACADEMIC ADMINISTRATION

 

Tel: 043 708 5221/5472
Fax: 043 708 5465
Secretary
Sisana Sawuti