WSU LEADERSHIP

THE CHANCELLOR

 

chancellor

 

 

On the 24th of April 2015, Council appointed a new University Chancellor in the person of Honourable Ambassador Sheila M. Sisulu with immediate effect. On behalf of the University Council, we wish to thank and congratulate Honourable Ambassador Sheila M. Sisulu and pledge our support in her new role for Walter Sisulu University.




THE COUNCIL
The Council, which governs the university within the confines of the Higher Education Act 1997 (Act No 101 of 1997) and University Statute as per Government Gazette No 37235, was officially inducted on 1 May 2014.
The council members are:

1. Judge N Dambuza: Ministerial Appointee (Chairperson)

2. Mr S Khondlo: Ministerial Appointee (Deputy chairperson)

3. Mrs CC Mulder: Elected by the Council

4. Ms NY Tyamzashe: Elected by the Council

5. Dr L Mpahlwa: Representative of Convocation

6. Mr TS Zakuza: Elected by the Council

7. Mr L Holbrook: Ministerial Appointee

8. Professor Bongani Mayosi: Ministerial Appointee

9. Mr LN Capa: Ministerial Appointee

10. Ms GT Serobe: Elected by the Council

11. Dr VF Mahlati: Elected by the Council

12. Professor R Midgley: Vice-Chancellor and Principal

13. Ms N Bam

14.

15. Dr P Jaca: Senate Representative

16. Mr A Sepeng: Senate Representative

17. Professor BS Nakani: Non-Senate Academic Representative

18. Mr S Tshangela: Non-Senate non-Academic Representative

19. SRC representative: Mr B Noah

20. SRC representative: Mr MMcithwa




INSTITUTIONAL MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE

 

 

VICE-CHANCELLOR & PRINCIPAL

Prof R Midgley

PhD (UCT),

B com LLB (Rhodes University)

Tel: 047 502 2200/2213
Fax: 047 502 2370
Secretary
Shamima Dunraj l Nombuyiselo Mbete
vc@wsu.ac.za

Deputy Vice-Chancellor: Academic Affairs & Research:

Prof MG Mahlomaholo    BA, BEd (UNIN); MEd (Harvard); DEd (UWC); UED

Tell: 047 502 2264

E: dvc@wsu.ac.za

CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER (Acting)
Mr A De Wet
B com, CTA (UWC), CA (SA)
Tel: 047 502 2285/ 2293
Fax: 047 502 2295
Secretary
Maggie Chirwa
mchirwa@wsu.ac.za
REGISTRAR
Mr HK Maphinda
MA, BA Hons (Unitra), MCom (UKZN), BA Hons (Rhodes)
Mthatha
Tel: 047 502 2217/2715
Fax: 047 502 2330
Secretary
Lusanda Ntintili
lntintili@wsu.ac.za
dotwana EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR STUDENT DEVELOPMENT & SUPPORT SERVICES
Ms Z Dotwana
MA (Liverpool), BA Hons, HEd (UFH), Cert HEd Mngt (Wits)
Mthatha
Tel: 043 708 5340
Fax: 043 708 5335
Secretary
Luke Nyembe
lnyembe@wsu.ac.za
  EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR HUMAN RESOURCES
Ms S NduliMA (UKZN), BSoc (Natal)
Tel: 047 502 2674/2673
Fax: 047 502 2731
Secretary
Babalwa Golifili
bgolifili@wsu.ac.za
websizeMCA SENIOR DIRECTOR: MARKETING, COMMUNICATION & ADVANCEMENT
Mrs Yonela Tukwayo CM (SA), B.com (hons) Unisa
Tel: 043 702 9377/9397
Secretary
Sindiswa Leve
sleve@wsu.ac.zaytukwayo@wsu.ac.za
 img_20160728_092929
SENIOR DIRECTOR LIBRARY & INFORMATION SERVICES
OFFICE  : INSTITUTIONAL – MTHATHA
Ms PP Ntshuntshe-MatshayaM BIBL, B BIBL (Hons.), HDLIS, BA (Unitra)
Tell:047 -5022176
Cell:072 218 8776
Secretary: 047 -502 2175
EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR ICT & OPERATIONS
Mr Sinethemba MpambaneM.Tech (CPUT), B.Tech, ND: Building (Pentech), Project Management (UCT)
Tel: 047 502 2659/2957
Secretary
Nondumiso Xokwe Ntantiso
nxokwe@wsu.ac.za
 Prof Coetser

Office of the Vice-Chancellor & Principal: Institutional Research & Planning

Professor A Coetser : BA, BA (Hons.) (UP), HDE (NKP), B Ed, MA (cum laude), D Litt et Phil (UNISA).

Tell: 047 502 2204/2260

Fax: 047 502 2269

Secretary:

ksleka Sangoni

ksangoni@wsu.ac.za

mfazwe ADVISOR TO THE VICE-CHANCELLOR & PRINCIPAL
Mr P Mfazwe
BA Hons (Unitra)
Tel: 047 502 2697/2303
Fax: 047 502 2839
Secretary
Zoliwe Mazwi
zmazwi@wsu.ac.za

CAMPUS MANAGEMENT

jadezweniSQ MTHATHA CAMPUS RECTOR
Prof JMM Jadezweni
BA, HED (Unitra), MA, MEd, EdD (Columbia)
Tel: 047 501 2859/2776
Secretary
Faith Sonkqayi
fsonkqayi@wsu.ac.za
Dr S Rajkaran DEAN FACULTY OF COMMERCE & ADMINISTRATION
Dr S Rajkaran

Junior Secondary Education Diploma (Springfield), B Com (Unisa), B Com Hons (Unisa), M Com (University of Durban-Westville), M Ed (Unitra/Bristol), B Tech Quality (Unisa), D Ed (WSU)
Tel: 047 502 2560
srajkaran@wsu.ac.za
Secretary
Nosipho Matyeke       (047) 502 2562
pmatyeke@wsu.ac.za
Prof PN Makiwane DEAN FACULTY OF EDUCATIONAL SCIENCES
Dr JM Molepo
PTC (Mamokgalake College), DES (Leeds), B Phil Ed (Birmingham), M Ed (Bath), PhD (Pretoria) (N)
Tel: 047 502 2541
Fax: 047 502 2545
mmolepo@wsu.ac.za
DEAN FACULTY OF HEALTH SCIENCES
(Vacant)
Tel: 047 502 2667
Dr JM Molepo DEAN FACULTY OF HUMANITIES, SOCIAL SCIENCES AND LAW
Prof PN Makiwane
BA, Hons BA (Unisa), B.Proc, LL.B (Unitra), LL.M, LL.D (Unisa)
Tel: 047 502 2357
pmakiwane@wsu.ac.za
 

BUTTERWORTH CAMPUS RECTOR

Prof VSB Mtetwa

D.Phil (Oxon), BSc (UBLS)

Tel: 047 401 6333
Fax: 047 492 0563
Secretary

Ms Thandi Cewa

jcewu@wsu.ac.za

Prof R Sonn DEAN FACULTY OF EDUCATION
Prof R Sonn
BA, STD, B Ed, M ED, D Ed (UWC) (1)
Butterworth
Tel: 047 401 6114
Fax: 047 401 6114
rsonn@wsu.ac.za
Ms B Nguza Mduba DEAN FACULTY OF MANAGEMENT SCIENCES
Ms B Nguza-Mduba-

STD, B Com Ed. (Unitra), B Ed. B Com Hons, MBL (Unisa), M Ed. (UOFS)

Butterworth

Tel: 047 401 6236
Fax: 047 401 6284
bnguza-mduba@wsu.ac.za
Secretary
Felicia Ntombekhaya Mangisa
fmangisa@wsu.ac.za
BUFFALO CITY CAMPUS RECTOR
Dr SP Jaca
BSc Ed, BSc Hons, MSc Maths (Unitra), M Ed (Sheffield), MSc Maths (Unitra), PhD (NMMU)
Tel: 043 708 5204
Fax: 043 708 5335
Secretary
Bridgitte Tamakloe
btamakloe@wsu.ac.zapjaca@wsu.ac.za
DEAN FACULTY OF BUSINESS SCIENCES 
Mr CS Novukela : B.Com, B.Com (Hons) UFH, M.Com. (UDW), Dip. Labour Law (GIMT), Practical Project Management (UNISA – SBL), Cert. in Total Quality Management (UNISA)
Tel: 043 708 5326
Fax: 043 708 5278
csnovukela@wsu.ac.za
Secretary
Nozipho Giba
ngiba@wsu.ac.za
Dr M Siswana DEAN FACULTY OF SCIENCE, ENGINEERING AND TECHNOLOGY
Dr M Siswana
PhD, MSc, BSc Hons (Rhodes),  BSc (UFH)
Buffalo City
Tel: 043 709 4069
Fax: 043 708 5437
msiswana@wsu.ac.zaSecretary:Bubele MququEmail: bmququ@wsu.ac.zaBabalwa PanyazaEmail: bpanyaza@wsu.ac.za

 

Prof Jumbam xquare2 DEAN FACULTY OF NATURAL SCIENCES
Prof ND Jumbam
MSc (THL-Merseburg), PhD (TU-Graz), CChem, MRSC
Mthatha
Tel: 047 502 2186
Fax: 086 696 6795
njumbam@wsu.ac.za
 attachment-1

QUEENSTOWN CAMPUS RECTOR


Prof McGlory Speckman

DTh (Unisa) MTh (Natal) BTh(hons) (Unisa) BA (Rhodes) DipTheol (Fedsem) APM (Unisa).
Tel: 040 842 6887/6808
Fax: 040 842 6896
Secretary
Neliswa Mbuqe
nmbuqe@wsu.ac.za
Dr D Gumbi DEAN FACULTY OF EDUCATION, FINANCE & MANAGEMENT
Dr D Gumbi
B Admin (HRM), B Admin (Hons) (Unitra), B Ed (Rhodes), M Ed (UPE), PhD (NMMU) (N)
Tel: 040 842 6800
dgumbi@wsu.ac.za

MANAGEMENT STAFF

INFRASTRUCTURE PROJECTS MANAGEMENT OFFICE

 (Vacant)

Tel: 047 401 6212/6001
Fax: 047 401 6362/6200
Secretary
Asanda Maqoma
amaqoma@wsu.ac.za
Mr Botha INTERIM DIRECTOR –  PROJECTS
Mr HJ Botha
Buffalo City – Heritage Building
Telephone: 043 702 9329
Cishe squareCM 308 DIRECTOR (Acting) RESEARCH DEVELOPMENT & POSTGRADUATE STUDIES
Dr N Cishe
Mthatha
Tel: 047 502 2947/047 502 2912/2647
Fax: 047 502 2185
Secretary
Nomafu Sigodi
nsigodi@wsu.ac.za
Mr Sibiya DIRECTOR (Acting)  STUDENT DEVELOPMENT
Mr SI Sibiya
Mthatha
Tel: 047 502 2736
Fax: 047 502 2493
Secretary
Thabisa Nocha
tnocha@wsu.ac.za
okutheSQ DIRECTOR INFORMATION, COMMUNICATION AND TECHNOLOGY
Mr J Okuthe
Buffalo City – Heritage Building
Tel: 043 703 8504
Fax:043-703 8535
Secretary
Apiwe Ngogela
angogela@wsu.ac.za
t
fozia DIRECTOR LEGAL SERVICES
Ms F Madhi
Buffalo City – Chiselhurst
Tel: 043 709 4095
Fax: 043 709 4096
barnard DIRECTOR FACILITIES
Mr D Barnard
Mthatha
Tel: 043 703 8576/8575
Fax: 043 703 8535
DIRECTOR
COST & MANAGEMENT ACCOUNTING
 (Vacant)
Tel: 043 703 8557/8558
Fax: 043 703 8579
Secretary
Mfezi Rwicila
Mrs Mabovula(150 x 150) DIRECTOR (Acting) INSTITUTIONAL RESEARCH & PLANNING
Dr N Mabovula
Mthatha
Tel: 047 502 2892/2799
Fax: 047 502 2530
Secretary
Nonkosi Duze
dandala DIRECTOR QUALITY ASSURANCE
Dr A Dandala
Buffalo City – Heritage Building
Secretary
Gail Langley

C

DIRECTOR CENTRE FOR COMMUNITY & INTERNATIONAL PARTNERSHIPS
Mr M Payi
Buffalo City – Taxi City
Tel: 043 702 9219/9250
Fax: 043 702 9274
Secretary
Nontsikilelo Moyikwa
DIRECTOR CENTRE FOR LEARNING & TEACHING DEVELOPMENT
Mr V Dwayi
Buffalo City – Heritage Building
Tel: 043 722 3328
Fax: 043 722 3342
Email: vdwayi@wsu.ac.za
(VACANT) DIRECTOR GOVERNANCE & ACADEMIC ADMINISTRATION
Tel: 043 708 5221/5472
Fax: 043 708 5465
Secretary
Sisana Sawuti
Director Institutional Advancement: