Overview Walter Sisulu University is one of six comprehensive universities which offer both academic and technological qualifications. WSU is a developmental university that focuses on urban renewal and rural development.   The University is named in honour of the iconic South African liberation struggle hero, the late Walter Max Ulyate Sisulu who was a close comrade of Nelson Mandela.
Established 2005
Number of students 30,500
Number of programmes offered Over 175 accredited programmes
No of employees 1,800
Location Eastern part of the Eastern Cape
Campuses Buffalo City (East London), Butterworth, Mthatha and Queenstown (Komani)
Chancellor Dr Sheila Sisulu
Vice-Chancellor Prof Rob Midgley
Community & international partnerships Over 175 partnerships throughout the world
Centres of engagement
  • Centre for Community & International Partnerships
  • Centre for Learning, Training & Development
  • Centre for Rural Development
  • Risk & Vulnerability Science Centre
  • Albertina Sisulu Centre for Global Health & Research
  • WSU is a major economic player in the region with an asset value of over R5 billion and an annual budget of over R1 billion.
  • All WSU academic programmes (over 175 qualifications) are fully accredited by the Council for Higher Education.
  • WSU’s engineering programmes (Civil, Electrical and Mechanical) are also accredited by the Engineering Council of South Africa (ECSA).
  • The WSU Medical School is among the top 8 medical faculties in the world for Problem-based Community Learning. The World Health Organisation says: ”WSU has set a benchmark for universities across the world.”
  • WSU is working with the South African Institute of Chartered Accountants (SAICA) and the University of Cape Town on a project to become accredited to produce Chartered Accountants CA (SA).
  • WSU produced the first cohort of BSc Clinical Associates, a new breed of healthcare professionals to boost health services in rural areas.
  • The School of Journalism offers the only programme in Versatile Broadcasting in South Africa.
  • WSU was the first of nine SA universities selected to house an e-skills Knowledge Centre Network Hub launched by the Deputy Minister of the Department of Communication.
  • WSU was awarded South Africa’s only research chair in Indigenous Knowledge Systems by the National Department of Science and Technology in conjunction with the National Research Foundation (NRF).
Honorary graduates
  • Mrs Albertina N Sisulu Doctor of Philosophy (Sociology 1992)
  • Mr Aggrey Klaaste, Doctor of Literature & Philosophy
  • Mr Chris Hani, Doctor of Literature & Philosophy (Political Studies) Posthumously
  • Dr Nkosazana C Dlamini-Zuma, Doctor of Medicine
  • Mr Jonathan Shapiro, Doctor of Literature
  • Ms Letta Mbulu, Doctor of Education (music)

To name only a few …

  • Odwa and Akhona Ndungane, Super 12 rugby players
  • Mziwoxolo Makholima, up-and-coming artist
  • Terence Nombembe, former Auditor-General
  • Chriselda Lewis, successful journalist
  • Mandisa Williams, female Springbok rugby captain
  • Lux September, FIFA communications chief
  • Msendi Fengu, award-winning journalist
  • Nomakhwezi Mzilikazi, decorated scientist
  • Tandazwa Ndita, senior judge
  • Tokozile Xasa, deputy minister in the South African government cabinet
  • Nonkululeko Gobodo, amongst the first black CAs to graduate
  • Judge Mbuyisei Madlanga, constitutional judge
  • Advocate Ntsebeza, member of the Marikana defence
Contact details

Walter Sisulu University

Private Bag x1

Nelson Mandela Drive


Ibika 047 401 6000
Buffalo City
Potsdam 043 708 5200
College Street 043 702 9200
Cambridge Street 043 704 4800
Chistelhurst 043 709 4000
Buffalo City Stadium 043 702 9200
Heritage Building 043 703 8500
Nelson Mandela Drive

047 502 2111/2844

047 501 1400
Queenstown (Komani)
Whittlesea 040 842 6800

Facebook OfficialWSU
Twitter @WalterSisuluUniversity Instagram WalterSisuluUniversity



Our campuses
Latest news
Contact us