About the Faculty of Management Sciences


We aspire to be responsive and impactful incubators of world-class professionals and entrepreneurs. 


Produce a new generation of highly skilled and agile graduates groomed to address complex societal challenges using technology-infused scholarly practices.


 In all our learning and teaching, research and community engagement endeavours, we demonstrate and uphold the highest standards of:

  • Professionalism
  • Integrity
  • Ethics 
  • Accountability
  • Excellence.


Concerning research, we are conscious of the inextricable link between our teaching role as academics as well as our research role and how the two should influence each other in an upward spiral or virtuous cycle. 

Our mantra is to teach what we research and to research what we teach. Our research niche areas below are proposed against this backdrop. 

Generically the following are the broad areas of research focus for the Faculty. 

The departments will have their own, more detailed and nuanced niche areas in their departmental strategies. 

Entrepreneurship development with a focus on SMEs in Greenfield operations, within the context of the Provincial Growth and Development Plan (EC-PGDP).

Among others, these include agro-processing, downstream manufacturing, tourism and so forth. 

The enquiry also includes different forms of entrepreneurship, such as co-operatives and the search for effective models that include and empower communities. 

Accounting for service delivery in the Eastern Cape Province in general and in local authorities in particular. 

This includes research into financial skills, management controls and practices, ethical issues in management, compliance with King II and III Codes of Governance, for example, general financial skills and literacy research and solutions are included.

Alternative forms of dispute resolution as well as alternative governance and leadership models (for example, traditional leadership, traditional courts), within a human rights framework. 

Economic growth and development models for rural and peri-urban areas, with a focus on the Eastern Cape, but with lessons and implications for the SADC region. 

This includes new models of black economic empowerment, environmental impact assessment, the Global Financial Crisis and its impact on developing economies, particularly poor and rural communities.

Human Capital Development and contemporary challenges such as HIV/Aids at work, human resources management challenges in Africa, productivity enhancement models in the developmental context, new and relevant management and leadership paradigms, for example.

Dean of Faculty

Dean of the Faculty (Acting)

Mr Manoj Panicker, B Com (Osmania, India) B Ed (Annamalai, India) MBL (UNISA), ACMA, CGMA (CIMA, UK)

Telephone: +27 (0) 47 401 6279

Email: mpanicker@wsu.ac.za

Department of Accounting

Head of Department

Mr Manoj Panicker, MBL (Unisa), ACMA, CGMA (CIMA, UK)

Telephone: +27 (0) 47 401 6248

Email: mpanicker@wsu.ac.za

Department of Management

Heads of Departments

Department of Accounting (Acting)

Mr M Pumlomo, ND (IT) (ECT), B Tech (IT) (ECT), PGCE(WSU), B Ed (WSU)

Telephone: +27 47 401 6292

Email: mpumlomo@wsu.ac.za

Department of Management

Mrs S Majova, ND HRM (Border Tech), B Tech HRM (CPUT), Advanced Diploma in Labour Law (Cum Laude)(NMMU), Masters in Human Resources Management (NMMU).

Telephone: +27 (0) 47 401 6209

Email: smajova@wsu.ac.za

Department of Public Management and Administration

Ms NP Mefi, ND:  OMT(DUT), BTech (OMT (DUT), Masters in Quality & Operations Management (UJ).

Telephone: +27 (0) 47 401 6004

Email: nmefi@wsu.ac.za

Department of Tourism and Hospitality 

Mr Z Cengimbo, B Tech Marketing (TSA), M Tech Business Admin(TSA)

Telephone: +27 (0) 47 401 6143

Email: zcengimbo@wsu.ac.za

Faculty Administration Team

Faculty Officer

Ms Lindelwa Richardson, ND: OMT (ECT), PGCE (WSU), BEd Honors (WSU)

Telephone: 047 401 6236

Email: lrichardson@wsu.ac.za

Senior Secretary: Deans Office

Ms Nokuthula Rune, ND: OMT (DUT), B Tech Public Management (TUT)

Telephone: 047 401 6185

Email: nrune@wsu.ac.za

Departmental Secretaries

Department of Accounting

Mrs Yandiswa Mpuqa-Buso, ND: OMT(WSU), B Tech Public Management (WSU), PGCE (WSU)

Tel; +27 47 401 6334

Email: ympuqa@wsu.ac.za

Department of Management

Ms Sinazo Matshaya, ND: OMT (WSU), B Tech Public Management (WSU)

Tel; +27 47 401 6360

Email: smatshaya@wsu.ac.za

Department of Public Management & Administration

Ms N Matantana, ND: OMT (WSU), B Tech Public Management (WSU)

Tel; +27 47 401 6010

Email: nmantantana@wsu.ac.za

Departement of Tourism & Hospitality

Mr N Sigumede, B Tech Management (WSU), PGCE

Tel; +27 47 401 6152

Email: nsigumede@wsu.ac.za

Our Departments

  • Department of Accounting
  • Department of Management
  • Department of Public Management and Administration
  • Department of Tourism and Hospitality