About the Faculty of Science, Engineering and Technology

The Faculty of Science, Engineering and Technology is composed of the following Departments, located at four Delivery Sites within the Buffalo City Metro:

  • Department of Applied Informatics and Mathematical Sciences
  • Department of Applied Sciences
  • Department of Built Environment
  • Department of Civil Engineering
  • Department of Electrical Engineering
  • Department of Information Technology
  • Department of Mechanical Engineering
  • Department of Visual Arts

The governance and leadership structure of the Faculty is a two-tier structure comprising the Dean and the Heads of the Departments. There are eight departments within the Faculty: Department of Applied Informatics & Mathematical Sciences which is spread over three sites, viz.: Potsdam, Chiselhurst and College Street, Department of Applied Sciences which is located at Potsdam (Analytical Chemistry stream) and College Street (Consumer Science stream), Department of Built Environment (Chiselhurst), Department of Civil Engineering (College Street), Department of Electrical Engineering (College Street), Department of Mechanical Engineering (Chiselhurst), Department of Information Technology (Potsdam and Chiselhurst) and the Department of Visual Arts (Cambridge Street). The Heads of Departments have overall responsibility for the programmes offered by their departments.

Future plans include consolidation of the Faculty at a single site in Buffalo City in order to minimise or completely eradicate travelling between sites. The majority of academic programmes offered in the Faculty are vocational in nature, and students have to do six months of work-integrated learning (WIL) which is mainly work-based learning (WBL) where students are placed in industry towards the end of their programmes so as to gain hands-on, real-life experience that is related
to their studies.

The programme and qualification mix of the Faculty consists of undergraduate diplomas and advanced diplomas, one articulating vertically into the other as outlined in the National Qualifications Framework. There are qualifications in the applied sciences of analytical chemistry and consumer sciences (food & nutrition), information technology, fashion and fine arts, and the engineering sciences of construction management and quantity surveying, civil, electrical and mechanical engineering.

The Faculty also to intends to offer post-graduate programmes in the very near future, in order to increase research activities and outputs. Many of the academic staff members in the faculty are involved in various research activities. The broad research niche areas that staff are active in are outlined below:

  • Materials Science and Testing for manufacturing: A good number of staff members are active in this area, mainly as registered post-graduate students at other universities.
  • Renewable Energy Technologies: Current research activities are on renewable energy technologies such as Solar Energy and Perovskite Solar Cells, Nanotechnology, Bio-Energy and Geothermal Technologies.
  • ICT for sustainable development: Researchers in this group are looking mainly into applications of ICT in education, health and agriculture.

Vision of the Faculty 

The Faculty will be an impactful centre of learning and innovation that offers technology-infused programmes and learning and teaching methods, research and community engagement.

Vision of the Faculty

In pursuit of its vision, the Faculty will produce highly-skilled, future-ready graduates, innovative new products and knowledge through courses, programmes, and community and research projects that are carried out within the Faculty.


  1. Honesty and integrity
  2. Quality and Excellence
  3. Respect
  4. Humility and Ubuntu