Faculty of Humanities, Social Sciences & Law

Faculty of Humanities, Social Science and Law

The Faculty is located at the Nelson Mandela Drive (NMD) site of the Mthatha Campus in the central region of the former Transkei which forms part of the Eastern Cape Province.

The Province shares common borders with KwaZulu-Natal, Lesotho, Free State, Northern Cape and Western Cape provinces.

Mthatha, where the Faculty is located, falls under the King Sabatha Dalindyebo (KSD) Local Municipality that is part of the OR Tambo District Municipality.

About Us

Welcome to the Faculty of Humanities, Social Sciences & Law.

The primary mandate of the Faculty is to:

  • Prepare and provide learners of quality that contribute meaningfully to the development of the region, South Africa and neighbouring countries
  • Equip those with an interest in community development with relevant scientific knowledge and skills, promote interest in and cultivate research proficiency as a precondition for developing a critical mass of scholars and researchers in the field of humanities.

The Faculty of Humanities, Social Sciences and Law strives to be a prestigious component of the institution that will become a Faculty of first choice for learners, by providing reputable programmes handled by efficient professionals.

The Faculty has, as its mission, to contribute to rural development.

The Dean, with the assistance of the four Heads of Departments, is charged with the responsibility of implementing policy, formulating strategies, ensuring that institutional and faculty rules are adhered to as contained in the WSU Calendar and Faculty Prospectus.

The Dean has the responsibility to give academic support and to facilitate the smooth running of the various departments.

The Faculty has four departments that are custodians of the following programmes:

  • Bachelor of Arts
  • Bachelor of Laws
  • Bachelor of Social Science
  • Bachelor of Social Work
  • Bachelor of Arts (Honours)
  • Bachelor of Social Science (Honours)
  • Postgraduate Diploma in Library Science
  • Master of Arts
  • Master of Laws
  • Master of Social Work.

Our students are sourced mainly from the Eastern Cape and KwaZulu-Natal but applications are received from other provinces and the SADC countries.

Its admission policy does not discriminate to race, gender, nationality, physical ability or religion.

As you go through our website (which you are advised to do so), you soon learn that our Faculty is production centre of various skills: linguists, historians, social scientists, lawyers, psychologists and social workers. 3 of its programmes are professional 4-year degrees.

The Faculty warmly welcomes you and trusts that you adopt it as your home.

Professor PN Makiwane, LLD Professor of Law and Dean


The Faculty of Humanities, Social Sciences and will be a centre of excellence in the provision of sound academic programmes and research that are innovative and responsive to the needs of the community and aligned to the regional, national and international imperatives in the relevant disciplines.


The Faculty is committed to excellence in:

  • Equipping students with socio-scientific knowledge and skills to contribute meaningfully to the socio-economic development of the region, the country and beyond
  • In the preparation of learners to become efficient professionals in their respective disciplines
  • In the provision of community development and research programmes that address the needs of this region and contribute to national development.

Goals and Values

  • To be a leading humanities faculty in the country
  • To be the custodian of diverse programmes of the highest quality which address the full range of needs within the humanities, social sciences and law
  • To contribute to addressing the socio-economic developmental need of the region through community engagement and research and learner empowerment
  • To produce learners of high quality that have a balance in terms of developmental spirituality, mentally and physically.