Faculty of Health Sciences


The Faculty pioneered Community-Based Education (CBE) in partnership with the Department of Health and the local communities of Ngangelizwe, Baziya, Mbekweni and Mhlakulo through the establishment of what was then called the Unitra Community Health Partnership Project (UCHPP). This project led to the establishment of four (4) Community Health Centres in and around Mthatha through funding from the W K Kellogg Foundation from 1991 to 2001. This initiative further led to the establishment of a university-wide Community Higher Education Service Partnership (CHESP) that has in turn been merged with Work Integrated Learning in the new Walter Sisulu University to form the greater part of the Centre for Community and International Partnerships. The Capacity building programme at district hospitals is supported by Department of Health with transport and is part of joint function of staff at WSU. The Faculty has adopted the Infusion Model of Community Engagement in line with the rest of the University.

Furthermore, the Faculty has spear-headed the introduction of Intergrated Longitudinal Community Clerkship (ILCC) in the 5th year of MBChB degree. This initiative is strongly supported by the Department of Health. The primary aim being to provide patient centred community clinical clerkship programmed at the district hospitals, Health Centres and surrounding communities.