Governance Structures

LEADERSHIP

CHANCELLOR
CHANCELLORDr Sheila Sisulu
VICE-CHANCELLOR & PRINCIPAL
VICE-CHANCELLOR & PRINCIPALProfessor Rushiella Songca
BA Law (National University of Lesotho, LLB LLM (University of Natal), LLM (Georgetown Law Centre; USA), LLD (University of Pretoria) | Telephone +27 (0) 47 401 6333 | Fax +27 (0) 47 492 0563 Secretary Amanda Matswele | amatswele@wsu.ac.za
DEPUTY VICE-CHANCELLOR: ACADEMIC AFFAIRS & RESEARCH (ACTING)
DEPUTY VICE-CHANCELLOR: ACADEMIC AFFAIRS & RESEARCH (ACTING)Professor McGlory Speckman
DTh, MTh (Natal), BTh (Hons), (BA) Rhodes, (DipTheol), (APM) (Unisa-SBL), Fedsem, (Unisa), (Rhodes), DTh (Unisa) | Telephone +27 (0) 40 842 6887/6808 | Fax +27 (0) 40 842 6896 | Secretary Koleka Sangoni | ksangoni@wsu.ac.za
DEPUTY VICE-CHANCELLOR: INSTITUTIONAL SUPPORT
DEPUTY VICE-CHANCELLOR: INSTITUTIONAL SUPPORTDr Prince Jaca
BSc Ed, BSc (Hons), MSc: Maths (Unitra), MEd (Sheffield), MSc: Maths (Unitra), PhD (NMMU) Telephone +27 (0) 43 708 5204 | Fax +27 (0) 43 708 5335 pjaca@wsu.ac.za Secretary Ms Naseema Kader | nkader@wsu.ac.za
REGISTRAR
REGISTRAR
Vacant
REGISTRAR (ACTING)
REGISTRAR (ACTING)Dr L Ntonzima
ND: Public Mngt Admin (WSU), BTech: Public Mngt (CPUT), MTech: Public Mngt (CPUT), DTech: Public Mngt (CPUT) Telephone +27 (0) 47 401 6212/6001 | Fax +27 (0) 47 401 6362/6200 Secretary Asanda Maqoma | amaqoma@wsu.ac.za
CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER
CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICERMr Morgan Nhiwatiwa
Chartered Accountant: ACMA, CGMA CIMA(UK), Chartered Accountant CA(SA) SAICA Telephone +27 (0) 47 502 2285/ 2293 Fax +27 (0) 47 502 2295 Secretary Naseema Kader | nkader@wsu.ac.za
EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR: ICT & OPERATIONS
EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR: ICT & OPERATIONSMr S Mpambane
MTech (CPUT), BTech, ND: Building (Pentech), Project Management (UCT) Telephone+27 (0) 47 502 2659/2957 Secretary Nondumiso Xokwe Ntantiso | nxokwe@wsu.ac.za
EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR: HUMAN RESOURCES
EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR: HUMAN RESOURCESMr Siyabulela Mnyayiza
LLB, B Juris (UFH), Adv Dip Labour Law (RAU) Telephone +27 (0) 47 502 2674/2673 |Fax +27 (0) 47 502 2731 Secretary Phila Kuboni | pkuboni@wsu.ac.za
SENIOR DIRECTOR: RESEARCH & INNOVATION
SENIOR DIRECTOR: RESEARCH & INNOVATIONProfessor Wilson Akpan
BSc (Hons) (University of Calabar),
MSc (University of Ibadan),
PhD, (Rhodes University) Telephone +27 (0) 47 502 2799
EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR: ICT & OPERATIONS
EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR: ICT & OPERATIONSMr S Mpambane
MTech (CPUT), BTech, ND, Building (Pentech), Project Management (UCT)
Telephone 047 502 2659/2957
Secretary
Nondumiso Xokwe Ntantiso
nxokwe@wsu.ac.za
EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR: MARKETING, COMMUNICATION & ADVANCEMENT
EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR: MARKETING, COMMUNICATION & ADVANCEMENTMrs Yonela Tukwayo
CM (SA), BCom (Hons) (Unisa) Telephone +27 (0) 43 702 9377/9397 | Email ytukwayo@wsu.ac.za Secretary Sindiswa Leve | sleve@wsu.ac.za
EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR: STUDENT DEVELOPMENT & ADVANCEMENT (ACTING)
EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR: STUDENT DEVELOPMENT & ADVANCEMENT (ACTING)Mr Prince Dabula
SENIOR DIRECTOR: INSTITUTIONAL RESEARCH & PLANNING
SENIOR DIRECTOR: INSTITUTIONAL RESEARCH & PLANNINGMr Anele Magwentshu
ND: IT (Eastern Cape Technikon), BTech: IT (PE Technikon), Master of Technology: Business Information System (Tshwane University of Technology) Telephone +27 (0) 47 502 2799
SENIOR DIRECTOR: LEARNING & TEACHING DEVELOPMENT
SENIOR DIRECTOR: LEARNING & TEACHING DEVELOPMENTProfessor Clever Ndebele
Bachelor of Education, Master's in Education (University of Zimbabwe), Postgraduate Diploma: Higher Education for Academics (UFH), Postgraduate Diploma: Higher Education for Academic Developers (Rhodes University), PhD: Education (UFH) Telephone +27 (0) 43 722 3328
ADVISOR TO THE VICE-CHANCELLOR & PRINCIPAL
ADVISOR TO THE VICE-CHANCELLOR & PRINCIPALMr Phumzile Mfazwe
Mr Phumzile Mfazwe BA Hons (Unitra) Telephone +27 (0) 47 502 2697/2303 | Fax +27 (0) 47 502 2839 Secretary Zoliwe Mazwi | zmazwi@wsu.ac.za
BUFFALO CITY CAMPUS RECTOR (ACTING)
BUFFALO CITY CAMPUS RECTOR (ACTING)Dr Cawe Novukela
PhD (WSU), MCom. (UDW), BCom, BCom (Hons) UFH, Dip Labour Law (GIMT), Practical Project Management (Unisa SBL), Cert in Total Quality Management (Unisa) Telephone +27 (0) 43 708 5326 Fax +27 (0) 43 708 5278 Email csnovukela@wsu.ac.za Secretary Busi Mayathula | bmayathula@wsu.ac.za
DEAN: FACULTY OF ENGINEERING & TECHNOLOGY
DEAN: FACULTY OF ENGINEERING & TECHNOLOGYDr R Stofile
BUFFALO CITY: DEAN: FACULTY OF MANAGEMENT SCIENCES
BUFFALO CITY: DEAN: FACULTY OF MANAGEMENT SCIENCESDr M Siswana
PhD, MSc, BSc (Hons) (Rhodes), BSc (UFH) Buffalo City Telephone +27 (0) 43 709 4069 | Fax +27 (0) 43 708 5437 Email msiswana@wsu.ac.za Secretary Bubele Mququ |bmququ@wsu.ac.za
BUTTERWORTH CAMPUS RECTOR (ACTING)
BUTTERWORTH CAMPUS RECTOR (ACTING)Ms B Nguza-Mduba
STD, BCom Ed (Unitra), BEd BCom (Hons), MBL (Unisa), MEd (UOFS) Butterworth Telephone +27 (0) 47 401 6236 | Fax +27 (0) 47 401 6284 Email bnguza- mduba@wsu.ac.za Secretary Felicia Mangisa | fmangisa@wsu.ac.za
BUTTERWORTH CAMPUS: DEAN: FACULTY OF MANAGEMENT SCIENCES (ACTING)
BUTTERWORTH CAMPUS: DEAN: FACULTY OF MANAGEMENT SCIENCES (ACTING)Mr M Panicker
BUTTERWORTH: DEAN: FACULTY OF ENGINEERING & TECHNOLOGY
BUTTERWORTH: DEAN: FACULTY OF ENGINEERING & TECHNOLOGYProfessor F Aghdasi
PhD (Bristol, UK), MBA (Portland, USA), MSc (Oregon, USA), BSc: Electronic Engineering (Manchester, UK) Telephone +27 (0) 47 401 6268 Mobile +27 (0) 82 811 6688 Email faghdasi@wsu.ac.za
KOMANI CAMPUS RECTOR & DEAN OF EDUCATION (ACTING)
KOMANI CAMPUS RECTOR & DEAN OF EDUCATION (ACTING)Dr Pretty Mpiti
PhD, MEd, BEd (Hons), BEd (UFH) Telephone +27 (0) 40 842 6850 Fax +27 (0) 40 842 6896 Email pmpiti@wsu.ac.za Secretary Tabile Nonxuba | tnonxuba@wsu.ac.za
KOMANI CAMPUS: DEAN: FACULTY OF ECONOMICS & INFORMATION (ACTING)
KOMANI CAMPUS: DEAN: FACULTY OF ECONOMICS & INFORMATION (ACTING)Dr P Bwowe
PhD: Business Management (NWU), MBA (NMMU), BTech: Business Management (NMMU), BA (Hons) (Unisa), BA Ed (Makerere) Email pbwowe@wsu.ac.za; Mobile +27 (0) 79 235 4939 or +27 (0) 73 284 3584
MTHATHA CAMPUS RECTOR
MTHATHA CAMPUS RECTORProfessor M Davhana-Maselesele
BCur (Unisa), BCur (Hons) (Unisa), MCur (Unisa), D Phil (UJ), Postdoctoral Fellowship (UCLA), Postgraduate Diploma: Health Research Ethics (UCT), R/N, R/M Telephone+27 (0) 47 501 2859/2776 Secretary Faith Sonkqayi | fsonkqayi@wsu.ac.za
MTHATHA CAMPUS: DEAN: FACULTY OF COMMERCE & ADMINISTRATION (ACTING)
MTHATHA CAMPUS: DEAN: FACULTY OF COMMERCE & ADMINISTRATION (ACTING)Mr F Kwahene
BCom Accounting (UCT), PGDip Accounting (UCT), MCom Accounting Sciences (University of Pretoria), CA (SA)
MTHATHA CAMPUS: DEAN: FACULTY OF EDUCATIONAL SCIENCES
MTHATHA CAMPUS: DEAN: FACULTY OF EDUCATIONAL SCIENCESDr BZ Gobingca
PhD (NMMU), MEd (Unitra), BEd Hons (Unisa), BCom Ed (Unitra), Dip in Agri (TCA), Cert in Comp Lit (Unitra)
MTHATHA CAMPUS: DEAN: FACULTY OF HEALTH SCIENCES
MTHATHA CAMPUS: DEAN: FACULTY OF HEALTH SCIENCESProfessor AJ Mbokazi
MCFP(SA), FCFP(SA), MBChB (Natal), MMed Fam Med (Natal) Telephone +27 (0) 47 502 2672 Email fhssl-dean@wsu.ac.za/ sjafta@wsu.ac.za Walter Sisulu University, Sisson Street, Fort Gale, Mthatha Private Bag X1 Mthatha 5117
MTHATHA CAMPUS: DEAN: HUMANITIES, SOCIAL SCIENCES & LAW
MTHATHA CAMPUS: DEAN: HUMANITIES, SOCIAL SCIENCES & LAW
MTHATHA CAMPUS: DEAN: FACULTY OF NATURAL SCIENCES
MTHATHA CAMPUS: DEAN: FACULTY OF NATURAL SCIENCESProfessor B Nkeh-Chungag
BSc, BSc (Hons), MSc (Yaounde), PhD (Wits), MPH (WSU), Mthatha | Telephone +27 (0) 47 502 2454/1989 | Email bnkehchungag@wsu.ac.za
DIRECTOR: COMMUNITY ENGAGEMENT & INTERNATIONALISATION
DIRECTOR: COMMUNITY ENGAGEMENT & INTERNATIONALISATIONMr Mzolisi Payi
MBA (Jackson State Univ, USA), BCom (Hons) (Unisa), BCom (Vista), Project Mngmt Prog (SU) Telephone +27 (0) 43 703 8551 Email mpayi@wsu.ac.za
DIRECTOR: FINANCING (ACTING)
DIRECTOR: FINANCING (ACTING)Ms Lazola Cebe
Chartered Accountant (SA), BCom Rationum (NMMU), Postgraduate Diploma: Accounting (UFH) Telephone +27 (0) 43 703 8553 | Fax +27 (0) 43 703 8579 Email lcebe@wsu.ac.za
DIRECTOR: HUMAN RESOURCES
DIRECTOR: HUMAN RESOURCESMs LP Mojaki
BCom: Human Resource Management (NWU), (Hons) (NWU), MCom: Human Resource Management (NWU)
DIRECTOR: INFORMATION, COMMUNICATION & TECHNOLOGY
DIRECTOR: INFORMATION, COMMUNICATION & TECHNOLOGYMr Nkosinathi Zulu
BSc: Physics (University of Zululand), BSc (Hons) Geophysics (Wits University), Master's in Information Technology (University of Pretoria) Buffalo City – Heritage Building Telephone +27 (0) 43 703 8504 | Fax +27 (0) 43 703 8535 Email nzulu@wsu.ac.za Secretary Apiwe Ngogela | angogela@wsu.ac.za
DIRECTOR: INFRASTRUCTURE PROJECT MANAGEMENT
DIRECTOR: INFRASTRUCTURE PROJECT MANAGEMENTMr Nkwana
DIRECTOR: INSTITUTIONAL ADVANCEMENT
DIRECTOR: INSTITUTIONAL ADVANCEMENTMr S Welcome
BSc Law (Rhodes), Postgrad Dip Enterprise Management (Rhodes Business School), Higher Certificate Advancement & Resource Mobilisation (Rhodes Business School) 13E Tecoma Office Park Berea East London Email swelcome@wsu.ac.za Secretary Jennifer Kupiso Telephone +27 (0) 43 702 9328/9370
DIRECTOR: POSTGRADUATE STUDIES
DIRECTOR: POSTGRADUATE STUDIESProfessor Lawrence Sithole
BOptom (UL), MOptom (UL), Dlitt et Phil: Health Studies (Unisa) Telephone +27 (0) 47 502 2189/1947 Email lsithole@wsu.ac.za Secretary | Vacant
DIRECTOR: QUALITY ASSURANCE
DIRECTOR: QUALITY ASSURANCEMr Christopher Khoza
BA, BA (Hons), Dip: Higher Education, Master’s in Public Management Mobile +27 (0) 71 353 7781 Telephone +27 (0) 43 703 8576 Email cmkhoza@wsu.ac.za
DIRECTOR: STUDENT RESIDENCE & ACCOMMODATION MANAGEMENT (ACTING)
DIRECTOR: STUDENT RESIDENCE & ACCOMMODATION MANAGEMENT (ACTING)Dr Thembisile Molose
ND: Hotel Management (Cape Technikon), BTech Hospitality Management (CPUT), BCom Business Management, BCom (Hons) Strategic Management (UJ), Masters in Tourism, Hospitality Management (CPUT), Doctor Philosophie (PhD) Business Management (UJ) | Mobile +27 (0) 72 541 9411 | Email tmolose@wsu.ac.za |Secretary/Admin Assistant Ms Tina Beja Email tbeja@wsu.ac.za