Leadership

THE CHANCELLOR
THE CHANCELLORMs Sheila M Sisulu
VICE-CHANCELLOR & PRINCIPAL
VICE-CHANCELLOR & PRINCIPALProfessor Rushiella Songca
BBA Law (National University of Lesotho), LLB LLM (University of Natal, LLM (Georgetown Law Centre, USA), LLD (University of Pretoria Telephone +27 (0) 47 401 6333 | Fax +27 (0) 47 492 0563 Secretary: Koleka Sangoni | ksangoni@wsu.ac.za
DEPUTY VICE-CHANCELLOR: ACADEMIC AFFAIRS & RESEARCH (ACTING)
DEPUTY VICE-CHANCELLOR: ACADEMIC AFFAIRS & RESEARCH (ACTING)Professor McGlory Speckman
DTh (Unisa) MTh (Natal) BTh(Hons) (Unisa) BA (Rhodes) DipTheol (Fedsem) APM (Unisa). Telephone +27 (0) 40 842 6887/6808 Fax +27 (0) 40 842 6896 Secretary: Tabile Nonxuba | tnonxuba@wsu.ac.za
DEPUTY VICE-CHANCELLOR: INSTITUTIONAL SUPPORT
DEPUTY VICE-CHANCELLOR: INSTITUTIONAL SUPPORTDr Prince Jaca
BSc Ed, BSc (Hons), MSc Maths (Unitra), MEd (Sheffield), MSc Maths (Unitra), PhD (NMMU) Telephone +27 (0) 43 708 5204 | Fax +27 (0) 43 708 5335 pjaca@wsu.ac.za Secretary:Ms Naseema Kader | nkader@wsu.ac.za
REGISTRAR
REGISTRARVacant
DIRECTOR: REGISTRAR (ACTING)
DIRECTOR: REGISTRAR (ACTING)Dr L Ntonzima
ND: Public Mngt & Admin (WSU), BTech Public Mngt (CPUT), MTech Public Mngt (CPUT), DTech Public Mngt (CPUT
Telephone +27 (0) 47 401 6212/6001 | Fax +27 (0) 47 401 6362/6200
Secretary Asanda Maqoma | amaqoma@wsu.ac.za
CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER
CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICERMr Morgan Nhiwatiwa
Chartered Accountant: ACMA, CGMA CIMA(UK), Chartered Accountant CA(SA) SAICA Telephone +27 (0) 47 502 2285/ 2293 Fax +27 (0) 47 502 2295 Secretary: Naseema Kader | nkader@wsu.ac.za
EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR: ICT & OPERATIONS
EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR: ICT & OPERATIONSMr S Mpambane
MTech (CPUT), BTech, ND: Building (Pentech), Project Management (UCT) Telephone +27 (0) 47 502 2659/2957 Secretary: Nondumiso Xokwe Ntantiso | nxokwe@wsu.ac.za
EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR: HUMAN RESOURCES
EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR: HUMAN RESOURCESMr Siyabulela Mnyayiza
LLB, B Juris (UFH), Adv. Dip Labour Law (RAU) Telephone +27 (0) 47 502 2674/2673 | Fax +27 (0) 47 502 2731 Secretary: Phila Kuboni | pkuboni@wsu.ac.za
EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR: MARKETING, COMMUNICATION & ADVANCEMENT
EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR: MARKETING, COMMUNICATION & ADVANCEMENTMrs Yonela Tukwayo
CM (SA), BCom (Hons) (Unisa) Telephone +27 (0) 43 702 9377/9397 | Email ytukwayo@wsu.ac.za Secretary: Sindiswa Leve | sleve@wsu.ac.za
EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR: STUDENT DEVELOPMENT & SUPPORT SERVICES (Acting) 
EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR: STUDENT DEVELOPMENT & SUPPORT SERVICES (Acting) Mr Prince Dabula 
SENIOR DIRECTOR: INSTITUTIONAL RESEARCH AND PLANNING
SENIOR DIRECTOR: INSTITUTIONAL RESEARCH AND PLANNINGMr Anele Magwentshu
ND: IT (Eastern Cape Technikon), BTech: IT (PE Technikon), Master of Technology: Business Information System (Tshwane University of Technology) Telephone +27 (0) 47 502 2799
SENIOR DIRECTOR: LEARNING AND TEACHING DEVELOPMENT
SENIOR DIRECTOR: LEARNING AND TEACHING DEVELOPMENTProfessor Clever Ndebele
Bachelor of Education, Master of Education (University of Zimbabwe), Postgraduate Diploma in Higher Education for Academics (UFH), Postgraduate Diploma in Higher Education for Academic Developers (Rhodes University), PhD Education (UFH) Telephone +27 (0) 43 722 3328
SENIOR DIRECTOR: LIBRARY & INFORMATION SERVICES
SENIOR DIRECTOR: LIBRARY & INFORMATION SERVICESMs PP Ntshuntshe-Matshaya
MBibl, BBibl (Hons), HDLIS, BA (Unitra) Telephone +27 (0) 47 5022176 | Mobile +27 (0) 72 218 8776 Email: pntshuntshematshaya@wsu.ac.za Secretary: N Nqolase | nnqolase@wsu.ac.za
SENIOR DIRECTOR: RESEARCH AND INNOVATION
SENIOR DIRECTOR: RESEARCH AND INNOVATIONProfessor Wilson Akpan
BSc (Hons) (University of Calabar), MSc (University of Ibadan), PhD (Rhodes University) Telephone +27 (0) 47 502 2044 Email wakpan@wsu.ac.za
ADVISOR TO THE VICE-CHANCELLOR & PRINCIPAL
ADVISOR TO THE VICE-CHANCELLOR & PRINCIPALMr Phumzile Mfazwe
BA Hons (Unitra) Telephone +27 (0) 47 502 2697/2303 | Fax +27 (0) 47 502 2839 Secretary: Zoliwe Mazwi | zmazwi@wsu.ac.za
BUFFALO CITY CAMPUS RECTOR
BUFFALO CITY CAMPUS RECTORProfessor N Feza
PhD Maths Education (State University of New York), MEd Maths Education (NMU) Telephone +27 (0) 43 708 5205/52-4
BUTTERWORTH CAMPUS RECTOR
BUTTERWORTH CAMPUS RECTORVacant 
DEAN: FACULTY OF ENGINEERING AND TECHNOLOGY
DEAN: FACULTY OF ENGINEERING AND TECHNOLOGYProfessor F Aghdasi
PhD (Bristol, UK), MBA (Portland, USA), MSc (Oregon, USA), BSc Electronic Engineering (Manchester, UK) Telephone +27 (0) 47 401 6268 Mobile +27 (0) 82 811 6688 Email faghdasi@wsu.ac.za
RECTOR: KOMANI CAMPUS & DEAN: FACULTY OF EDUCATION (ACTING)
RECTOR: KOMANI CAMPUS & DEAN: FACULTY OF EDUCATION (ACTING)Dr Pretty Mpiti
PhD, MEd, BEd (Hons), BEd (UFH) Telephone +27 (0) 40 842 6850, Fax +27 (0) 40 842 6896 Email: pmpiti@wsu.ac.za Secretary Tabile Nonxuba | tnonxuba@wsu.ac.za
MTHATHA CAMPUS RECTOR
MTHATHA CAMPUS RECTORProfessor M Davhana-Maselesele
BCur (Unisa), BCur (Hons) (Unisa), MCur (Unisa), D Phil (UJ), Postdoctoral Fellowship (UCLA), Postgraduate Diploma in Health Research Ethics (UCT), R/N, R/M Telephone +27 (0) 47 501 2859/2776 Secretary:Faith Sonkqayi | fsonkqayi@wsu.ac.za
DEAN: FACULTY OF BUSINESS SCIENCES
DEAN: FACULTY OF BUSINESS SCIENCESDr Cawe Novukela
Dr CS Novukela PhD (WSU), MCom. (UDW), BCom, BCom (Hons) UFH, Dip Labour Law (GIMT), Practical Project Management (Unisa SBL), Cert. in Total Quality Management (Unisa)
Telephone +27 (0) 43 708 5326 Fax +27 (0) 43 708 5278 Email csnovukela@wsu.ac.za Secretary: Busi Mayathula | bmayathula@wsu.ac.za
DEAN: FACULTY OF ECONOMICS AND INFORMATION (ACTING)
DEAN: FACULTY OF ECONOMICS AND INFORMATION (ACTING)Dr P Bwowe
PhD Business Management (NWU), MBA (NMMU), BTech Business Management (NMMU), BA (Hons) (Unisa), BA Ed (Makerere)
Email pbwowe@wsu.ac.za
Mobile +27 (0) 79 235 4939 or +27 (0) 73 284 3584
DEAN: FACULTY OF EDUCATION
DEAN: FACULTY OF EDUCATIONProf N Diko
BA (University of Fort Hare), Diploma: Applied Linguistics (University of Fort Hare), Master of Science: Language Education (Indiana University, USA), Doctor of Philosophy (Indiana University, USA) Telephone +27 (0) 47 401 6115 Email ndiko@wsu.ac.za
DEAN: FACULTY OF HEALTH SCIENCES
DEAN: FACULTY OF HEALTH SCIENCESProfessor AJ Mbokazi
MCFP(SA), FCFP(SA), MBChB (Natal) M Med Fam Med (Natal) Telephone +27 (0) 47 502 2672 Email fhssl-dean@wsu.ac.za / sjafta@wsu.ac.za Walter Sisulu University Sisson Street, Fort Gale, Mthatha Private Bag X1 Mthatha 5117
DEAN: FACULTY OF MANAGEMENT SCIENCES
DEAN: FACULTY OF MANAGEMENT SCIENCESMs B Nguza-Mduba
STD, BCom Ed (Unitra), BEd BCom (Hons), MBL (Unisa), MEd (UOFS) Butterworth Telephone +27 (0) 47 401 6236 | Fax +27 (0) 47 401 6284 Email bnguza-mduba@wsu.ac.za Secretary: Felicia Mangisa | fmangisa@wsu.ac.za
DEAN: FACULTY OF NATURAL SCIENCES
DEAN: FACULTY OF NATURAL SCIENCESProfessor B Nkeh-Chungag
BSc, BSc (Hons), MSc (Yaounde), PhD (Wits), MPH (WSU), Mthatha | Telephone +27 (0) 47 502 2454/1989 | Email bnkehchungag@wsu.ac.za
DEAN: FACULTY OF SCIENCE, ENGINEERING AND TECHNOLOGY
DEAN: FACULTY OF SCIENCE, ENGINEERING AND TECHNOLOGYDr M Siswana
PhD, MSc, BSc Hons (Rhodes), BSc (UFH) Buffalo City Telephone +27 (0) 43 709 4069 | Fax +27 (0) 43 708 5437 Email msiswana@wsu.ac.za Secretary: Bubele Mququ | bmququ@wsu.ac.za
DIRECTOR: COMMUNITY ENGAGEMENT AND INTERNATIONALISATION
DIRECTOR: COMMUNITY ENGAGEMENT AND INTERNATIONALISATIONMr. M Payi
Mzolisi Payi, MBA (Jackson State Univ, USA), BCom (Hons) (Unisa), BCom (Vista), Project MngmtProg (SU) Telephone +27 (0) 43 703 8551 Email: mpayi@wsu.ac.za
DIRECTOR: FINANCE (ACTING)
DIRECTOR: FINANCE (ACTING)Ms Lazola Cebe
Chartered Accountant (SA), B Com Rationum (NMMU), Postgrad Diploma In Accounting (UFH) Telephone +27 (0) 43 703 8553 | Fax +27 (0) 43 703 8579
Email lcebe@wsu.ac.za
DIRECTOR: HUMAN RESOURCES
DIRECTOR: HUMAN RESOURCESMs LP Mojaki
BCom (Human Resource Management) (NWU), (Hons) (NWU); MCom (Human Resource Management) (NWU)
DIRECTOR: INFORMATION, COMMUNICATION AND TECHNOLOGY
DIRECTOR: INFORMATION, COMMUNICATION AND TECHNOLOGYMr Nkosinathi Zulu
BSc Physics (University of Zululand), BSc (Hons) Geophysics (Wits University), Masters Information Technology (University of Pretoria) Buffalo City – Heritage Building Telephone +27 (0) 43 703 8504 | Fax +27 (0) 43 703 8535 Email nzulu@wsu.ac.za Secretary: Apiwe Ngogela | angogela@wsu.ac.za
DIRECTOR: INFRASTRUCTURE PROJECT MANAGEMENT
DIRECTOR: INFRASTRUCTURE PROJECT MANAGEMENTMr Nkwana
DIRECTOR: INSTITUTIONAL ADVANCEMENT
DIRECTOR: INSTITUTIONAL ADVANCEMENTMr Silvanus Welcome
BSc Law (Rhodes), Postgrad Dip Enterprise Management (Rhodes Business School), Higher Certificate Advancement & Resource Mobilisation (Rhodes Business School) 13E Tecoma Office Park Berea East London Email swelcome@wsu.ac.za Jennifer Kupiso Telephone +27 (0) 43 702 9328/9370
DIRECTOR: POSTGRADUATE STUDIES
DIRECTOR: POSTGRADUATE STUDIESProf Lawrence Sithole
BOptom (UL), MOptom (UL), Dlitt et Phil (Health Studies) (Unisa) Telephone +27 (0) 47 502 2189/1947 Email lsithole@wsu.ac.za Secretary | Vacant
DIRECTOR: QUALITY MANAGEMENT
DIRECTOR: QUALITY MANAGEMENTMr Christopher Khoza
BA, BA (Hons), Dip: Higher Education, Master’s: Public Management Mobile +27 (0) 71 353 7781 Telephone +27 (0) 43 703 8576 Email cmkhoza@wsu.ac.za