Building the University’s Brand

The Department of Marketing, Communication and Advancement has offices in Mthatha (Nelson Mandela Drive Site) and East London (13E Tecoma Park, Tyrrell Road, Berea, East London).

Key Areas of Responsibility

  • Student Recruitment and General Marketing
  • Corporate and Student Recruitment Advertising
  • University Events including Graduation Ceremonies
  • University-Branded Merchandise
  • WSU Brand Custodian
  • Media Relations
  • Internal and External Communication
  • Corporate Publications
  • Marketing and Content Aspects of the WSU Website
  • Graphic Design for the University Community
  • Foundation Activities
  • Advancement of the University Activities.

Executive Director & Spokesperson: Yonela Tukwayo

Email ytukwayo@wsu.ac.za
Mobile +27 (0) 60 997 4431
Telephone +27 (0) 43 702 9377

Secretary: Sindiswa Leve (Buffalo City)

Email Sleve@wsu.ac.za
Telephone +27 (0) 43 702 9397

Director: Silvanus Welcome

Email swelcome@wsu.ac.za
Telephone +27 (0) 43 702 9328/9370

Deputy Director: Mathabo Hendricks

Email mhendricks@wsu.ac.za
Mobile +27 (0) 71 370 6576

Head of Communication (Media Relations): Sinawo Hermans

Email shermans@wsu.ac.za
Mobile +27 (0) 71 730 5038
Telephone +27 (0) 43 702 9378

Senior Marketing and Communication Officer (Student Recruitment): Thando Cezula 

Email tcezula@wsu.ac.za
Mobile +27 (0) 65 143 5487

Communication Officers: Mthatha

Anita Roji
Email aroji@wsu.ac.za
Mobile +27 (0) 67 209 0108

Ongie Sigodi
Email osigodi@wsu.ac.za
Mobile +27 (0) 72 933 8540