About Faculty of Management Sciences

The University's Faculty of Management Sciences welcomes you to the Butterworth's Campus.

It is the largest Faculty with a number of diverse commerce-related programmes that attract students from different spheres of the country and abroad.

The programmes offered include:

  • Accounting
  • Management
  • Public Management
  • Administrative
  • Tourism
  • Hospitality Sciences.

These programmes aim to address the needs of the business, industry, local and regional communities.

The Faculty has already aligned most of its programmes with the new requirements for Higher Education Qualifications Sub-Framework, accredited by the Council for Higher Education (CHE) and registered with the South African Qualifications Authority (SAQA).

As a result, a National Diploma has changed to a Diploma; a BTech is called an Advanced Diploma. New Diplomas will be three-year programmes; Advanced Diplomas will be for a one-year duration.

The Faculty continues to make a significant contribution to the core business of Walter Sisulu University. 

We look forward to partnering with you in your endeavours to fulfil your dreams and for the betterment of the region, the province as well as the country.

Our Vision

  • Walter Sisulu University will be a values-driven, technology-infused African university providing a gateway for local talent to be globally competitive and to make a sustainable impact.

    Our Mission
  • Through quality teaching and learning, research, innovation and community engagement, Walter Sisulu University responds to societal needs and delivers future-ready graduates who are responsible citizens, able to address complex societal challenges in critical, ethical, scholarly, sustainable and entrepreneurial ways.

Our Values

  • Inspired by our icon tat’uWalter Sisulu, and guided by our country’s foundational values, the Walter Sisulu University accepts as its core values:

    • Academic Freedom
    • Honesty and Integrity
    • Quality and Excellence
    • Dignified Behaviour, including Respect for Person and Property
    • Humility, Selflessness and uBuntu-Botho
    • Caring Service and Striving for the Greater Good.

Dean of Faculty

Mrs Bulelwa Nguza-Mduba, MBL (Unisa), MEd (UOFS), BCom (Hons), BEd (Unisa), BCom (ED), STD (Unitra)

Telephone: +27 (0) 47 401 6279

Email: bnguza-mduba@wsu.ac.za

Department of Accounting

Head of Department

Mr Manoj Panicker, MBL (Unisa), ACMA, CGMA (CIMA, UK)

Telephone: +27 (0) 47 401 6248

Email: mpanicker@wsu.ac.za

Department of Management

Head of Department

Mrs S Majova, Masters in Human Resources Management (NMU)

Telephone: +27 (0) 47 401 6209

Email: smajova@wsu.ac.za

Department of Tourism and Hospitality 

Head of Department

Mr Z Cengimbo, MTech, BAdmin (TSA)

Telephone: +27 (0) 47 401 6143

Email: zcengimbo@wsu.ac.za

Department of Public Management and Administration

Head of Department

Ms N Mefi, ND:  OMT, BTech (OMT (DUT)

Telephone: +27 (0) 47 401 6004

Email: cnovukela@wsu.ac.za

About Us

Our Departments

  • Department of Accounting
  • Department of Management
  • Department of Public Management and Administration
  • Department of Tourism and Hospitality