Butterworth Campus Overview

The Butterworth Campus serves mainly the disadvantaged rural areas with a delivery site at Ibika.

It lies about 5 km away from the relatively small town of Butterworth. The countryside surrounding this small town is very beautiful and it has a fair share of tourist attractions.

The University campus serves mostly the food industry.


WSU Butterworth Campus has three faculties that offer 35 programmes of study that includes BA Technology Degrees:

  • Management Sciences
  • Engineering & Technology
  • Education.

Facilities & Services

A wide variety of student services are offered: 

  • Academic 
  • Counselling
  • Health Services 
  • Leadership Development
  • Outreach Programmes 
  • Sport & Cultural Societies.


The Butterworth Campus offers residential accommodation and off-site accommodation at the other satellite campuses.  


1985 Established as an engineering campus of the Eastern Cape Technikon
1994 Received autonomy
2004 Butterworth Campus is home to 9,000 students
2005 Merger between ECT, Border Technikon and the University of Transkei forming the Walter Sisulu University for Technology and Science, Eastern Cape 

Contact Us

Walter Sisulu University: Butterworth Campus

N2, EnkolweniMbhashe Rural
Eastern CapeSouth Africa
 32° 12′ 17.014″ S28° 17′ 59.975″ E
 +27 47 401 6254
 +27 47 401 6267
Admission Queries 
 +27 47 401 6000