Alt Text


Overview Walter Sisulu University is one of six comprehensive universities which offer academic and technological qualifications.

WSU is An impactful, technology-infused African University that focuses on urban renewal and rural development.   The University is named in honour of the iconic South African liberation struggle hero, the late Walter Max Ulyate Sisulu who was a close comrade of Nelson Mandela.



Number of Students


Number of Programmes Offered

Over 186 accredited programmes

Number of Employees



Eastern part of the Eastern Cape 


Buffalo City (East London), Butterworth, Mthatha and Komani


Ms Nonkululeko Gobodo


Prof Rushiella Songca

Community Engagement & International & National Partnerships

Over 175 partnerships throughout the world


  • WSU is a major economic player in the region with an asset value of over R5 billion and an annual budget of over R1 billion.
  • All WSU academic programmes (over 186 qualifications) are fully accredited by the Council for Higher Education.
  • WSU’s engineering programmes (Civil, Electrical and Mechanical) are also accredited by the Engineering Council of South Africa (ECSA).
  • The WSU Medical School is among the top 8 medical faculties in the world for Problem-based Community Learning. The World Health Organisation says: ”WSU has set a benchmark for universities across the world.”
  • WSU is accredited with the South African Institute of Chartered Accountants (SAICA) to produce chartered accountants.
  • WSU produced the first cohort of BSc Clinical Associates, a new breed of healthcare professionals to boost health services in rural areas.
  • The School of Journalism offers the only programme in Versatile Broadcasting in South Africa.
  • WSU was the first of nine SA universities selected to house an e-skills Knowledge Centre Network Hub launched by the Deputy Minister of the Department of Communication.
  • WSU was awarded South Africa’s only research chair in Indigenous Knowledge Systems by the National Department of Science and Technology in conjunction with the National Research Foundation (NRF).

Honorary Graduates

  • Mrs Albertina N Sisulu, Doctor of Philosophy (Sociology 1992)
  • Mr Aggrey Klaaste, Doctor of Literature & Philosophy
  • Mr Chris Hani, Doctor of Literature & Philosophy (Political Studies) Posthumously
  • Dr Nkosazana C Dlamini-Zuma, Doctor of Medicine
  • Mr Jonathan Shapiro, Doctor of Literature
  • Ms Letta Mbulu, Doctor of Education (music)
  • Mr Jonas Gwangwa, South African musician (music)

To name only a few …


  • Odwa and Akhona Ndungane, Super 12 rugby players
  • Mziwoxolo Makholima, up-and-coming artist
  • Dr Terence Nombembe, former Auditor-General
  • Chriselda Lewis, successful journalist
  • Mandisa Williams, female Springbok rugby captain
  • Lux September, FIFA communications chief
  • Msingisi Fengu, award-winning journalist
  • Nomakhwezi Mzilikazi, decorated scientist
  • Tandazwa Ndita, senior judge
  • Tokozile Xasa, former deputy minister in the South African government cabinet
  • Nonkululeko Gobodo, amongst the first black CAs to graduate
  • Judge Mbuyisei Madlanga, constitutional judge
  • Advocate Ntsebeza, member of the Marikana defence
  • Berita Khumalo, awarding-winning musician
  • Dr Ncumisa Jilata, Africa's youngest neurosurgeon.

Contact Us

Email Address: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Contact Numbers:
Mthatha: 047 502 2100
Butterworth: 047 401 6000
East London: 043 702 9200
Potsdam: 043 708 5200
Chiselhurst: 043 709 4000

Follow us on Social Media

facebook X black insta black youtube black linkedin black linkedin black